Very inspiring blogger award

Very Inspiring Blog Award

Mari Wells has nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. It’s wonderful to get some recognition after two years of blogging. Thank you so much, Mary! 😀

Here are the rules:
Rules of Participation:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. State 7 things about yourself.
4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

Seven Things About Me:

1. I might be the only person in the United States who drove a 1960 Plymouth from Denver to Seattle and back, in the year 2012. I even went to Forks. No A/C, AM radio only. My only modernization: a GPS unit. My old-fashioned road atlas was still easier to use for long-distance multi-highway route planning!

2. I was inspired to write Vampire Syndrome after reading the four Twilight books, specifically my disappointment with the ending of Breaking Dawn (an ending which even Stephenie Meyer and the screenwriters have changed for the Breaking Dawn Part 2 movie!)

3. I have visited all the Colorado locations described in Vampire Syndrome, even the “undisclosed” locations of the vampires’ facilities, such as their headquarters compound. I know details of those locations you can only experience from personal visitations, even if they “don’t exist”. 😈

4. Working closely with special-needs individuals for over twenty years helped me to refine my main character Jack Wendell (a human vampire with Down Syndrome) to the point where every reader of Vampire Syndrome who has a special-needs friend and/or family member has praised my portrayal of Jack as being exceptionally realistic.

5. When I finished my first read of “Interview With The Vampire” at age 17, I did not think “I could write something better than that.” Today, I consider it Anne Rice’s crowning glory, so I still wouldn’t think that. Thus, in practice, Stephenie Meyer inspired me much more than Anne Rice. 😈

6. Some would say that I am a “late bloomer”, not starting to write my first novel until the age of 43. Well, for all those years I was “just” reading, the traditional publishing industry had the lock on publishing. Even if I had written Vampire Syndrome ten or twenty years ago, would it have ever seen the light of day back then? A number of authors are in fact reviving their old novels as e-books. I might have been one of them, if I’d been lucky enough to get my rights back. I may not be rich, but I have all the rights to my work and you can buy my e-books. That’s more than what a lot of long-time authors can say, unfortunately.

7. My automotive knowledge is extensive enough to where a mechanic with 40+ years of experience was able to discern exactly what part failed in the transmission of Damien’s 1960 Plymouth Fury, simply from Damien’s point-of-view observations in Chapter Two. No, this was not a case where the same part failed on my own 1960 Plymouth. My car is manual shift, Damien’s is automatic, so my car does not have a torque converter inner bushing, which is the part that failed in Damien’s car. And, I don’t know any owners of an automatic-transmission 1960 Plymouth who had this part fail on them, so I haven’t even heard details of such a failure experience second-hand.

My nominees:

1. Emily Guido (she’s already won it, but still deserves to be #1 on my list!)
2. Lesley Carter: Bucket List Publications
3. Kristen Lamb’s Blog
4. Chris Devlin Writes
5. The Graveyard Press
6. You Jivin’ Me, Turkey?
7. Think Banned Thoughts
8. The Biting Edge
9. You Can Write A Novel
10. The Warrior Muse
11. Write Your Life Story
12. J.A. Kazimer
13. Writers In The Storm
14. The Wordslinger

…and the most inspiring of them all:
15. The World Of Special Olympics 😀

3 Comments

  1. Congrats!!!

  2. You’re welcome. I can’t believe this is the first award you’ve gotten. I was sure I just missed it.
    🙂

  3. You deserve the best,congratulation Very interesting points about yourself.jalal


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

