Dracula

A great review of a book many haven’t read in years, which is precisely the reason why they should read it! It’s not a coincidence that the first words in the prologue of Vampire Syndrome are “Dear Diary.”

Runnin Off at the Mouth....

Dracula.

The name immediately conjours up fantastical images personal to each of us.

I first read Dracula in high school. I’ve since read it four times: first, third, and fourth times in the version to the left (Dell, ISBN 0-440-92148-1), and the second time an abridged version (by Nora Kramer) put out by Scholastic Books Services (curiously no ISBN is to be found on the book), third printing, August 1975. Since I’m working my own novel manuscript, it has taken me a while to get through it (about 40 days). I started it a week before Hallowe’en. I’ve been wanting to reread it again for years.

And so refreshing a re-reading it was!

Dracula is so well done, and is written from a point of view (POV) that is “outside the [vampiric] box,” pardon the pun. I love how it’s not a straightforward, real-time POV, that the story is woven together through an after-the-fact presentation of diaries…

View original post 708 more words

5 Comments

  1. Thanks for the reblog, Daven! I think you’re my first reblog of one of my posts! :-]

  2. I think I reread it a year ago… or was it two? have you read the “Sherlock Holmes” version? It’s fun and sticks to the story very well – here it is – http://www.amazon.com/Sherlock-Holmes-Dracula-Loren-Estleman/dp/0743407148

  3. I had my blog about Dracula and my experience reading it in October! I believe for each of is it congers up different feelings! Thanks, Daven


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

