Don’t Dream It, Be it: What “Rocky Horror” Means to Me

I made the “noob” mistake of throwing untoasted slices of bread at my first midnight showing of RHPS. And my friend threw rolls of Charmin at the Scott cue… 😛
1981, those were the days… 😉

PORTALS AND PATHWAYS

 

Image

What do you say when your favorite movie is one that’s been written about over, and over again; a cultural icon with a subculture surrounding it that often eclipses the film itself, like the traveling Deadhead movement (of which I was a part) often eclipsed the music of the Grateful Dead?

Well, in the case of “The Rocky Horror Picture Show,”  I say–‘Don’t dream it, be it.’

I first encountered “Rocky Horror”–or a clip from it–in 1980, when I was a media-conscious, sci-fi and horror loving, precocious 9 year old.  It was in a short feature about cult films, a term I didn’t even understand at the time, on Siskel and Ebert’s “Sneak Previews” show on PBS.  The song “Science Fiction Double Feature”, and the red lips against a background as black as the midnight which has always been the film’s traditional screening time, instantly captivated me.

The song…

View original post 435 more words

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

